The New England Quarter

Panoramas (4)

An earlier view of the site here and here


The Brighton Wheel, Madeira Drive, Brighton

Removed in 2016, prior to the opening of i360

Panoramas (2)

New England Quarter, Brighton

A mixed development comprising housing, hotel and commercial uses on a site that in previous times was the railway locomotive works and associated terrace housing.The site was derelict for many years, but it had the potential for a major contribution to the particular urban fabric of Brighton.
It is to be hoped that future generations will see this major development as worthwhile.

brighton from the air
Brightons Architecture logo

Back to top of page

A showcase of some of the fine secular architecture of Brighton.

brighton centre, brighton

The Brighton Centre & Kingswest


new road, brighton

New Road, Brighton


black lion street, brighton

Black Lion Street 2007 and 2009

Panoramas (3)
A view of Black Lion Street as it was in 1887

waterloo street arch, hove

Waterloo Street Arch

Panoramas (2)

The Waterloo Street Arch, restored in 1986, was not always so stylish; originally the entrance through to the Brunswick Market, later a Riding School and ultimately grocery storage and sometime bacon smokehouse, it was in this sorry state (see 1974 photo below).

1974 photo here.

embassy court, brighton

Embassy Court

Panoramas (2)

preston park, brighton

Preston Park


Designed by Wells Coates and constructed 1934-1935, on the site of Western House.

Streamlined Modern Movement, it incorporated many innovations and stands as a uncompromising monument to the zeitgeist.
As many serious critics have mentioned, it is a good building in the wrong place.
For complex reasons the building fell into disrepair during the 1990s and was rescued by the efforts of residents; remedial works were carried out by Paul Zara of Conran and Partners, 2004–2006.


The Astoria Cinema, Gloucester Place, Brighton

Panoramas (3)

For a view of the site, before the cinema.

Other historic photographs of the Gardens

Other historic photographs of the Astoria

A history of the Astoria

The Astoria, opened in 1933; designed by Edward Stone for E. E. Lyons, with art deco interiors by Henri and Laverdet.
Closed as a cinema in 1977; became a bingo hall, and closed completely in 1997.
Now, in 2010, redevelopment proposals are being made for the site